Yakabuski named Minister of Transportation

by Vance Gutzman

John Yakabuski is riding high these days.

The MPP for Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke, who was elected to a fifth consecutive term in last month’s provincial election which saw his Progressive Conservatives cruise to a majority government, was sworn in last week as Ontario’s Minister of Transportation.

“It was something I was hoping for,” Yakabuski told the NRT.

His promotion to cabinet by Premier Doug Ford comes after Yakabuski spent 15 years riding the pine on the opposition benches.

Yakabuski is the first MPP from Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke to hold a cabinet seat in more than 30 years, when Sean Conway served in David Peterson’s Liberal government.

“I share that with all the good people of Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke,” Yakabuski said of his promotion in Ford’s new government, thanking the electorate for re-electing him as their representative at Queen’s Park.

Yakabuski has always been a staunch proponent of the continued four-laning of Highway 17, and he promises to push forward with that endeavour.

“We’re looking forward to moving on that project as expeditiously as possible,” he said.

Mind you, Yakabuski will also have quite a few other issues on his plate in new capacity.

“It’s a huge Ministry,” he said, noting it also encompasses Metrolinx, the province’s regional transportation agency in southern Ontario, urban transit and even some small regional airports in northern Ontario.

> for the full story, pick up a copy of the July 4 NRT…