Townships to appoint new councillor

by Terry Myers

The townships of Head, Clara and Maria will appoint a new member of council at its next meeting May 15.

The new member will replace former councillor Dave Foote, who submitted his resignation April 5.

Foote became the third member of townships council to resign within the last year, after former mayor Jim Gibson and councillor Debbi Grills tendered their resignations last July.

The remaining members of council confirmed the decision to advertise for candidates and appoint a new council member at their monthly meeting last Tuesday night.

However, the decision was not unanimous.

Councillor Ernie Villeneuve questioned why the townships would advertise for new candidates when there were already two on record from the last appointment in September.

Villeneuve and Councillor Cathy McKay were appointed at that time to fill the vacancies left by the resignations of Gibson and Grills.

Two other candidates, Sylvia Baird and Susan Elliot, had also applied for the council posts.

“They’ve been vetted. Why not ask them if they’re still interested?” Villeneuve said.

But Councillor Calvin Chartrand said they would be free to put their names forward if they wish to.

“That was the past, this is a new one,” Chartrand said. “Maybe someone else wants to step forward.”

For the full story, pick up a copy of the April 25 NRT…