Ladies celebrate 60th annual invitational

Lady golfers from around the Ottawa Valley gathered in Deep River on July 11 to play in Deep River’s 60th Annual Invitational Golf Tournament.

In 1953 the Ladies’ Section of the Deep River Golf Club decided to invite the ladies of the Pembroke Golf Club for a social “Tea and Golf.”

This social continued until 1958 when Deep River Golf Club hosted their first annual Ladies Invitational Tournament.

The event was organized and won by Roselma Sinclair with a round of 92.

This event would continue for the next 60 years, drawing competitive lady golfers from Ottawa to North Bay and occasionally from southern Ontario.

The ladies would compete for the WH Johnson trophy, the Joyce Baldwin Memorial trophy and eventually the King’s Auto Repairs trophy.

Throughout the years the Ottawa Valley ladies recorded some great scores.

In 2005, a Deep River golfer, Lynn Sebastien shot a new course record (ladies) of 71 to beat out defending champion Alison Murdoch of the Royal Ottawa Golf Club, who recorded a 77 on the day.

The Pembroke Golf Club has continued to be well represented in the tournament with golfers like Fay Grolway winning as many as 11 times over the years.

From the beginning of this event the businesses of Deep River have generously supported the Invitational with prizes and other donations, helping to make it a popular and successful event.

This year, sponsor Melody King presented the King’s Auto Repairs Trophy to tournament champion Sue Roman (Pembroke) with a score of 83 after defeating Patty Hansen (Pembroke) in a two-hole playoff.

Gilda McKay also of Pembroke Shores was the tournament low net (67) winner.

Other notables were A Flight winners Patty Hansen 83 (Pembroke) Low Gross, Karen Langfield 68 Low Net, B Flight winners Denise Colby (Deep River) 92 Low Gross, Diane Dafoe (Pembroke) 70 Low Net, and C Flight winners Mavis Tetlock (Petawawa) 98 Low Gross, Karen Pleadwell (Pembroke) 69 Low Net, sponsored by Valley Funeral Home.