All-candidates meetings planned

Voters in Deep River will get not one, but two chances to meet their candidates in this fall’s municipal elections.

The Deep River Community Association has announced that, based on the number of people running, it will hold two all-candidates meetings this September.

The first meeting will take place Thursday, September 13 for the town’s mayor and reeve candidates.

There are four candidates running for mayor – Sue D’Eon, Larry Dumoulin, Anne Hutton and Benjamin Kolaczek – and two for reeve – incumbent Reeve Glenn Doncaster and current Councillor Ron Desrochers.

A week later, Thursday, September 20, voters will get a chance to hear and question the 11 candidates for five council positions.

Running for council are current Councillors Bob McLaren and Terry Myers, as well as nine new faces – Imran Bajwa, Will Fitton, Tanner Fleury, Merrill Gasmann, Christina Giardini-Rochon, Kathy Hughes, Stuart McCarthy, Ken McDonald, and Rajini Nitheanandan.

Both meetings are booked from 7-9 pm and will be held in Bernard Childs Auditorium at Mackenzie Community School.

All candidates will have a chance to speak to the audience, and then questions will be taken in written form.

An all-candidates meeting will also be held for voters in Head, Clara and Maria.

The date set for that meeting is Wednesday, September 5, beginning at 7 pm in the Stonecliffee community hall.

A notice of the meeting on the townships website says that, “based on the current climate of the community,” there will be an opportunity to ask anonymous questions.

Questions will be vetted by an experienced moderator to ensure they are “appropriate for discussion.”
Questions may be submitted in advance by email to <>.

“Other than assisting with logistics, municipal employees will not be involved in any way wtih this process,” the notice says.

Two candidates are running for mayor in the townships – incumbent Bob Reid and former councillor Debbi Grills.

There are also 10 candidates for four council positions – current Councillors Calvin Chartrand, Cathy McKay, Nancy Rose and Ernie Villeneuve Jr., as well as new challengers Brent Allen, Wayne Clouthier, Fran Kelly-Chamberlain, Chris Dowser, Patrick McGurran, and Gayle Watters.